This image is of a spacer graphic
NHF Face Book NHF Twitter
+ Login to my NHF
+ NHF Membership
+ Donate to NHF
+ Chapter Center
+ Hechos y Respuestas Rápidas
+ Ethics Advisory Committee
This image is of a spacer graphic
 NHF In The News
 NHF eNotes
 Medical Advisories
 Advocacy and Legislative Updates
 Medical News
 Blood Safety News
-NHF and Community News
 Industry News
 Travel Advisory



WFH Award Goes to Orthopedic Surgeon in Colorado

The World Federation of Hemophilia presented its 2009 Pietrogrande Prize to Jerome Wiedel, MD, orthopedic surgeon at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center (UCHCS) in Aurora, at its 11th WFH Musculoskeletal Congress in Cartagena, Colombia in April. The three-day conference attracts the world’s leading orthopedic surgeons, hematologists and physiotherapists specializing in the treatment and care of people with bleeding disorders.

“He was one of the first orthopedists to do total joint replacements and arthroscopic procedures in the hemophilia population,” said colleague Sharon Funk, PT with the Mountain States Regional Hemophilia and Thrombosis Center in Denver at the awards ceremony. “In fact one of his earliest knee replacements, done in 1977, is still functioning well today!”

Wiedel was also honored for his commitment to the Musculoskeletal Congress. Funk mentioned in her speech that he helped organize one of the first meetings, held in Denver, in the mid-1980s. Wiedel was an active member of the group for more than 25 years, serving as chairman of the Musculoskeletal Committee in 2002.

In 1972 Wiedel was appointed Professor of Joint Reconstruction in the orthopaedics department at UCHSC. From 1986-2000 he served as department chair. In his clinical practice in adult reconstructive surgery Wiedel focuses on prosthetic hip and knee replacements. Since 1977 he has served as the orthopedic consultant to the Mountain States HTC. Wiedel has served on NHF’s Medical and Scientific Advisory Council (MASAC). With Marvin Gilbert, MD, he co-authored the 1996 NHF publication, “The Treatment of Hemophilia: Current Orthopedic Management.”

The prize is named for Dr. Vincenzo Pietrogrande, orthopedic surgeon at the Institute of Clinical Orthopedics at the University of Milan. He was the first chair of the group that eventually became the Musculoskeletal Committee.


This section of our Web site is sponsored by: