Jul 30, 2020

The National Hemophilia Foundation would like to invite all healthcare providers attending NHF’s Virtual Bleeding Disorder Conference, to join us this Saturday, August 1st, for the Second Annual Victor Grifols Roura Medical Preconference Symposium! Made possible only through the generous support of Grifols, this year’s symposium will delve into the diagnosis and clinical management of patients with rare inherited bleeding and platelet disorders.  

The distinguished faculty for Genetic Analysis and Other Diagnostic Tools for Rare Bleeding and Platelet Disorders, are all leading experts in the field, and will be reviewing the treatments currently available to manage bleeding in these patients and share significant advances being made to improve genetic diagnosis, including valuable insights on how to interpret rare platelet gene panels.

Don’t miss this “rare” opportunity to learn more about the strides being made nationally to better care for patients with these conditions. As this session will be broadcasting “live”, we would encourage all health care providers to participate by posing questions for an interactive discussion to follow the presentations.   

Details

NHF’S SECOND ANNUAL VICTOR GRIFOLS ROURA MEDICAL SYMPOSIUM -
Genetic Analysis and Other Diagnostic Tools for Rare Bleeding and Platelet Disorders**

Saturday, August 1st

Time: 3:00pm-5:00pm (ET), 2:00 – 4:00 pm (CT); 1:00- 3:00 pm (MT); 12:00 – 2:00 pm (PT)  

**Not available for CME/CE credit

Faculty
Moderator/Chair: Meera Chitlur, MD
Director, Hemophilia Treatment Center and Hemostasis Program, Children's Hospital of Michigan  

Amy Shapiro, MD
CEO and Co-Medical Director, Indiana Hemophilia and Thrombosis Center
                
Diane Nugent, MD
Medical Director, Pediatric Hematology, CHOC Children's, Center for Inherited Bleeding Disorders

Jorge A. Di Paola, MD
Division Chief, Pediatric Hematology & Oncology, Washington University School of Medicine
at St. Louis

Approx. ET Title Duration Speaker
3:00 - 3:03 pm Welcome from NHF 3 mins Brett Spitale, NHF VP of Advancement
3:03 - 3:08 pm

A Few Introductory Remarks

--on Behalf of Grifols

5 mins

Joe Zuraw, Sr. Director - Corporate Affairs

Grifols Shared Services North America, Inc

3:10 - 3:15 pm Faculty Chair - Introductions 5 mins Dr. Meera Chitlur
3:15 - 3:45 pm Current Treatment Landscape for Rare Bleeding Disorders 30 mins Dr. Amy Shapiro
3:45 - 4:15 pm Advances in Genotyping and a New Sequencing Platform for Rare Bleeding Disorders 30 mins Dr. Diane Nugent
4:15 - 4:45 pm How to Curate and Functionalize Gene Variants for Rare Bleeding Disorders 30 mins Dr. Jorge DiPaola
4:45 - 5:00 pm Q&A Discussion 15 mins All MD Presenters

Learn more about this symposium and all BDC educational offerings by visiting the NHF website.