Meet the individuals who are dedicated to our mission of improving the lives of people with inheritable blood disorders through research, education, and advocacy.

Join the team at NHF

President and CEO

Leonard Valentino

Leonard Valentino, MD


President & Chief Executive Officer

mail  lvalentino@hemophilia.org

Glenview, IL

For over three decades I treated families with bleeding disorders, working towards finding better treatments for patients and preventing complications of their disorders through education, advocacy, and research. My work was most gratifying when I could help someone realize his or her full potential, living a life not limited by a diagnosis or its complications. Diagnosing and treating boys and girls, men and women, parents, grandparents and family members was fulfilling personally and professionally. Conducting clinical and laboratory research helped me to understand how to develop and elevate treatments to new levels, seeking cures and improving the quality of life for everyone in the bleeding disorders community. I have spent time in the biopharmaceutical industry trying to understand how to bring new therapies to patients globally. My past experiences as a physician, educator, researcher, and an industry partner have all focused on treating patients and their families and have provided me with the experiences and knowledge to take on this challenging role as the President and CEO for the National Hemophilia Foundation, a role I take on behalf of the entire bleeding disorders community and one that I see as the pinnacle of my career – serving you. 

The landscape of the bleeding disorders community is changing and there are challenges ahead. Gene therapy and novel technologies and treatments bring new opportunities, and many questions as well. We will face these challenges together, working jointly to find solutions. Through collaboration with patients, families, chapters, partners, supporters, medical professionals, patient organizations, government agencies, and all stakeholders in the bleeding disorders community, everything is possible. I believe in unity, and my past leadership roles in these areas put us in a unique position to move forward in ways we haven’t had the opportunity to do so ever before. To unlock our greatest potential in such an exciting time we must all support each other – this is what will define our success.

This is an exciting time for the bleeding disorders community as research is progressing forward in unimaginable ways, but there is still more to be done. This is why one of my primary objectives will be to increase our funding to support innovative research on new therapies, and then educating stakeholders on these advancements. Advocating on behalf of those impacted by bleeding disorders with our legislators locally and in Washington D.C. for better access, including access to care, to treatment centers, to physicians, and to new treatments will be ever more important.

I look forward to working with you in our joint pursuit to improve the outcomes for our community.

NHF Officers

Dawn Rotellini

Dawn Rotellini

She, Her, Hers


Chief Operating Officer

mail  drotellini@hemophilia.org

Gibsonia, PA

Dawn has been a leader in the bleeding disorders community for many years.  As a parent of a son with hemophilia, she founded the Rocky Mountain Hemophilia & Bleeding Disorders Association in Bozeman, Montana, served as its Executive Director, and began their Family Camp. After moving to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Dawn worked for the American Diabetes Association (ADA) as an Area Manager. Concurrently, she served as a board member for the Hemophilia Center of Western Pennsylvania for six years. Dawn left the ADA for a position as the Executive Director of the Western Pennsylvania Chapter of the NHF in Pittsburgh, where she became actively involved with Camp Hot to Clot and eventually became the Director. She holds a Bachelor of Science from Montana State University in Bozeman.

Kevin Mills

Kevin Mills, PhD

He, Him, His


Chief Scientific Officer

mail  kmills@hemophilia.org

Boston, MA

Kevin Mills, PhD has joined the National Hemophilia Foundation as chief scientific officer.A graduate of University of Colorado Boulder, MIT, and Harvard Medical School, Dr. Mills will be responsible for overseeing NHF’s research strategy, including developing and expanding the foundation’s research capabilities, and setting research goals.

Dr. Mills brings more than 20 years of experience in biotechnology, hematology, and oncology to the role. In 2005, Dr. Mills joined the faculty at the Jackson Laboratory in Bar Harbor, Maine and led a laboratory focused on the biology of DNA repair in hematology and oncology. In 2012, he co-founded Cyteir Therapeutics, a biotechnology company developing and commercializing new therapies targeting DNA repair pathways. As Cyteir’s chief scientific officer, he led the team that brought a first-in-class RAD51 inhibitor into clinical trials. Dr. Mills subsequently joined Civetta Therapeutics as chief scientific officer.

Peter Harvey

Peter Harvey, MBA


Chief Business Officer

mail  pharvey@hemophilia.org

,

Peter Harvey serves as the Chief Business Officer for NHF including oversight for finance & accounting, business development, conference & travel services, and IT. Peter is a senior healthcare finance and operations executive with diverse experience in healthcare nonprofit finance & accounting, pharma/biotech HEOR and medical affairs business operations, academic medical/pediatric department and Hemophilia Treatment Center administration, plus PM&R medical practice and research foundation executive leadership. Peter has volunteered at a number of non-profits and is a founding volunteer board member of a nonprofit providing education and humanitarian support to children and families in Mariani, Haiti. He has a B.A. from Augustana College and a M.B.A. from the University of Chicago, Booth School of Business.

 

Advancement

Brett Spitale

Brett Spitale

He, Him, His


Vice President of Advancement

mail  bspitale@hemophilia.org

Pittsburgh, PA

Brett is an innovative nonprofit executive with more than 20 years of experience in the healthcare nonprofit field. As the Vice President of Advancement, Brett leads theNHF's development, communications, marketing, and walk programs. Brett possesses significant experience in fundraising, including annual fund programs, major gifts, corporate and foundation development, special event fundraising, capital campaigns, and planned giving efforts. He has created and managed successful communications initiatives, including marketing, media relations and social media development, along with board governance and structure. Brett previously held leadership positions at Autism Speaks, The Alzheimer's Association, The ARC, The American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition, and the American College of Cardiology. He is also actively involved with the American Society of Association Executives, the Association of Fundraising Professionals, The Center for Nonprofit Excellence, and Board Source. Brett attended George Mason University, where he completed his undergraduate and graduate work in communications and public administration.

  • Abby Miller

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Abby Miller
    Production and Creative Services Specialist
    mail amiller@hemophilia.org
  • Amy Burns

    Amy Burns
    Director of Stakeholder Relations
    mail aburns@hemophilia.org
  • Ilana Ostrin

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Ilana Ostrin
    Senior Director of Public Relations and Communications
    mail iostrin@hemophilia.org
  • Jay Patel
    ,
    MS

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Jay Patel
    Director of Online Marketing
    mail jpatel@hemophilia.org
  • Lisa Colquhoun

    Lisa Colquhoun
    Grants Coordinator
    mail lcolquhoun@hemophilia.org
  • Mariana Halova
    ,
    MS

    Mariana Halova
    Database Marketing Manager
    mail mhalova@hemophilia.org
  • Maureen Parsons

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Maureen Parsons
    Director of Individual Giving
    mail mparsons@hemophilia.org
  • Riley Breen

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Riley Breen
    Development Specialist
    mail rbreen@hemophilia.org
  • Vincent Price

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Vincent Price
    Web Marketing Specialist
    mail vprice@hemohilia.org

Chapter Development

Michael Craciunoiu

Michael Craciunoiu, M.Ed, PCC

He, Him, His


Vice President of Chapter Services

mail  mcraciunoiu@hemophilia.org

,

  • Danielle Bell

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Program Manager
    mail dbell@hemophilia.org
  • Elizabeth Stephens

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Elizabeth Stephens
    Manager of Chapter Advancement
    mail emolnar@hemophilia.org
  • Katie Cooper

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Katie Cooper
    Director of Chapter Advancement
    mail kcooper@hemophilia.org
  • Kenneth McElderry

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Kenneth McElderry
    Director of Chapter Development
    mail kmcelderry@hemophilia.org
  • Kristi Harvey-Simi

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Kristi Harvey-Simi
    Director of Chapter Development
    mail kharvey@hemophilia.org
  • Nick Kallinicou

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Nick Kallinicou
    Chapter Development Specialist
    mail nkallinicou@hemophilia.org

Conference and Travel Services

  • Alla Vaynshteyn
    ,
    MBA, CMP

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Alla Vaynshteyn
    Manager of Conference & Travel
    mail avaynshteyn@hemophilia.org
  • Ciarra de Leon

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Ciarra de Leon
    Conference & Travel Services Coordinator
    mail cdeleon@hemophilia.org
  • Johanna Ong
    ,
    CMP, HMCC, DES

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Johanna Ong
    Conference & Travel Services Specialist
    mail jong@hemophilia.org
  • Maria M. Salas-Pilla
    ,
    HMCC, DES

    Maria M. Salas-Pilla
    Vice President of Conference & Travel Services
    mail msalas@hemophilia.org

Education

Kate Nammacher

Kate Nammacher, MPH

She, Her, Hers


Vice President of Education

mail  knammacher@hemophilia.org

New York, NY

  • Brendan Hayes

    Brendan Hayes
    Director of Education, Innovative Therapies
    mail bhayes@hemophilia.org
  • Jasmine Pauldurai

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Jasmine Pauldurai
    Education Specialist
    mail jpauldurai@hemophilia.org
  • Katherine Cabrera

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Bilingual Education Specialist
    mail kcabrera@hemophilia.org
    place , NC
  • Lena Volland
    ,
    PT, DPT

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Lena Volland
    Director of Education
    mail lvolland@hemophilia.org
  • Marlee Whetten

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Marlee Whetten
    Education Specialist
    mail mwhetten@hemophilia.org
  • Natalia Winberry
    ,
    MNLM

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Natalia Winbery
    Manager of Education
    mail nwinberry@hemophilia.org
  • Nikole Scappe

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Nikole Scappe
    Manager of Education
    mail nscappe@hemophilia.org
  • Sonia Roger

    Sonia Roger
    Education Specialist
    mail sroger@hemophilia.org

External Affairs

Kollet Koulianos

Kollet Koulianos, MBA


Vice President of Payer Relations

mail  kkoulianos@hemophilia.org

Palm Harbor, FL

  • Brigette Reid
    ,
    BS

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Bridgette Reid
    Director of Payer Relations
    mail breid@hemophilia.org
  • Marla Feinstein
    ,
    MPH

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Marla Feinstein
    Senior Policy and Healthcare Analyst
    mail mfeinstein@hemophilia.org

Finance and Administration

  • Adeli Lopez
    ,
    PHR, SHRM-CP

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Adeli Lopez
    Human Resources Director
    mail alopez@hemophilia.org
  • Anna Sprovskaya
    ,
    MS

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Anna Sprovskaya
    Controller
    mail asprovskaya@hemophilia.org
  • Annie Wong

    Annie Wong
    Senior Accountant
    mail awong@hemophilia.org
  • Danette Nelson

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Danette Nelson
    HR Coordinator
    mail dnelson@hemophilia.org
  • Denis Shpits

    Denis Shpits
    Senior Accountant
    mail dshpits@hemophilia.org
  • Elvira Goody

    Elvira Goody
    Executive Assistant to the CEO
    mail egoody@hemophilia.org
  • Frenil Dand

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Frenil Dand
    Director of Information Technology
    mail fdand@hemophilia.org
  • Hasan Inal
    ,
    MBA, Finance

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Hasan Inal
    Manager of Accounting
    mail hinal@hemophilia.org
  • Jenny Tran

    Jenny Tran
    Staff Accountant
    mail jtran@hemophilia.org
  • Karina Lopez
    ,
    MPH

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Karina Lopez
    Project Management Specialist
    mail klopez@hemophilia.org
  • Olga Jouravleva

    Olga Jouravleva
    Senior Accounting Financial Analyst
    mail ojouravleva@hemophilia.org
  • Peter Lieuw

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Peter Lieuw
    Associate Controller
    mail plieuw@hemophilia.org
  • Tim Brent
    ,
    MBA

    Tim Brent
    Senior Director of Business Development
    mail tbrent@hemophilia.org

Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Keri L. Norris

Keri L. Norris, PhD, JM, MPH, MCHES

She, Her, Hers


Vice President of Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

mail  knorris@hemophilia.org

,

Medical Programs and Information

Neil Frick

Neil Frick, MS

He, Him, His


Senior Vice President for Medical Programs and Information

mail  nfrick@hemophilia.org

New York, NY

Responsible for the overall strategic and operational leadership of the National Hemophilia Foundation's (NHF) medical programs and HANDI Information Resource Center including oversight of the processes of material development, update and distribution channels. Supervise the awarding of clinical fellowships and other health care provider awards. Support the work of NHF's Medical and Scientific Advisory Council and supervise NHF's continuing education program serving bleeding disorders treatment professionals. This includes the development of healthcare provider publications, pre-conference symposium and medical program tracks at NHF's Bleeding Disorders Conference and webinars.

  • Angelina Wang

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Angelina Wang
    Director of Medical Programs and Information
    mail awang@hemophilia.org
  • Jonathan Angarola

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Jonathan Angarola
    Senior Manager of Medical Programs & Information
    mail jangarola@hemophilia.org
  • Kwadwo (Kojo) Agyekum

    Medical Programs and Information Coordinator
    mail kagyekum@hemophilia.org
  • Marci Hardy
    ,
    MA, PhD

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Marci Hardy
    Manager of Medical Education Grants
    mail mhardy@hemophilia.org
  • Morgan Johnson
    ,
    MPA, CAE

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Morgan Johnson
    Manager of Healthcare Provider Programs
    mail mjohnson@hemophilia.org

Public Policy

Nathan Schaefer

Nathan Schaefer, MSW

He, Him, His


Vice President of Public Policy

Chicago, IL

mail  nschaefer@hemophilia.org

  • Bill Robie

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Bill Robie
    Senior Manager, State Government Relations
    mail brobie@hemophilia.org
  • Josie Gamez

    Government Relations Manager
    mail jgamez@hemophilia.org

National Chapter Staff

  • Chelsea Hilty

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Executive Director
    mail chilty@hemophilia.org
  • Cynthia Dang

    Cynthia Dang
    Chapter Administrative Assistant
    mail cdang@hemophilia.org
  • Hanna Beary

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Hanna Beary
    Chapter Program Manager
    mail hbeary@hemophilia.org
  • Jacob Murdock

    (
    He, Him, His
    )
    Executive Director
    mail jmurdock@hemophilia.org
  • Jennifer Schack

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Jennifer Schack
    Executive Director, Hawaii Chapter
    mail jschack@hemophilia.org
  • Kristen Dansereau

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Administrative Assistant
    mail kdansereau@hemophili.org
    place , WV
  • Kyra Calbero

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Kyra Calbero
    Chapter Program Manager
    mail kcalbero@hemophilia.org
    place , HI
  • Mariana Pena

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Administrative Assistant
    mail mpena@hemophilia.org
  • Marlyn Walker

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Marlyn Walker
    Executive Director
    mail mwalker@hemophilia.org
  • Maureen Grace

    Maureen Grace
    Chapter Executive Director
    mail mgrace@hemophilia.org
  • Perry Jowsey III

    Perry Jowsey III
    Chapter Executive Director
    mail pjowsey@hemophilia.org
  • Sarah Arrieta
    ,
    MA

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Program Manager
    mail sarrieta@hemophilia.org
  • Stephanie Dupree

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Development Manager
    mail sdupree@hemophilia.org

Research

Michelle Witkop

Michelle Witkop, DNP, FNP-BC

She, Her, Hers


Vice President, Research Strategy

mail  mwitkop@hemophilia.org

,

As the Head of Research, Dr. Witkop, a Doctor of Nursing Practice, leads the National Hemophilia Foundation’s research initiatives.  Previously the lead practitioner at the Northern Regional Bleeding Disorders Center in Traverse City MI, she is the 2015 recipient of the Nurse of the Year Award from the American Nurse Credentialing Center (ANCC) for Transformational Leadership,  a past Chair of NHF’s Nursing Work Group and the 2014/2015 Co-Chair of NHF’s Annual Meeting.  Dr.  Witkop is an ATHN/HRSA Demonstration Project of National Significance Grantee with the project, “Evaluating a Nurse Practitioner Medically Lead Hemophilia Treatment Center in Comparison to a Physician Medically Lead Hemophilia Treatment Center”.

Her background includes extensive experience and research in pain management including chronic pain and palliative care. Prior to joining the bleeding disorders community, Dr. Witkop was employed in a chronic pain practice and was Board Certified in Palliative Care. She has been the principal investigator or co-investigator for multiple hemophilia pain research studies including the National Pain Study and the IMPACT Quality of Life Studies and has published multiple articles as well as lectured extensively. She is a past-chair of and continues working with the MASAC Pain Initiative Subcommittee.

  • Felix Olaya
    ,
    MPH

    Felix Olaya
    Research Recruitment & Engagement Specialist
    mail folaya@hemophilia.org
  • Maria E. Santaella
    ,
    MSN, RN-BC, CPHON

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Maria Santaella
    Director of Research
    mail msantaella@hemophilia.org
  • Samantha Carlson
    ,
    MSW, LMSW

    (
    She, Her, Hers
    )
    Samantha Carlson
    Senior Manager of Research Programs and Partnerships
    mail scarlson@hemophilia.org